From what I’ve read on other people’s blogs, many others share the same perspectives that I do on mass media and its effects on us. Every blog that I read said that since we’re all bombarded with the media, it has a big impact on our lives. In many blogs I read, like Tiziana’s, it is noted that the media “has both positive and negative aspects.” There are also similarities in how we should conduct ourselves on the internet in regards to what we believe.

Although, there are also dissimilarities, and quite a few more than I was expecting there to be. For example, in Vincent’s blog, he touches on branding and people’s self image. He says that the media has “flooded the youth generation’s mind full of brands, clothes, shoes and the latest trends in order for them to stand out.” I completely agree, and never even thought of it like that. I took the meaning of impact on our world view to be more broad and political, whereas Vincent took both the general and the specific.

Haya and I shared a lot of the same perspectives that I outlined in the first paragraph, but there was one thing I didn’t exactly agree with. She says “the mass media has a significant effect on our societies that is more often bad than good.” I agree that there are many bad effects, but I don’t think those occur more often than good effects. This brings me to Brent, who mentions a “bias toward the negative” that our society has. We both believe that the media tends to show more negativity because it has that shock factor and it gets people’s attention. Brent also brings up television shows shaping the career he wanted to have as a child, which I didn’t include in my perspective of our world view.

So, it seems that there are many different perspectives of the mass media that all show the same opinion on the effect that it has on us. None of the other blogs I read changed my opinion, but they all added another element to the vast topic that is the media, so I guess they changed my impression. The blogs that I read widened my view of the mass media and world view as concepts, so to speak. They added more elements to both of those things: the media encompassing everything from brands to television shows, and world view including everything from political views to desired careers. Also, when I think about it, this whole experience has been a lesson in how the media impacts our world view. We’ve been reading other people’s opinions, through mass media, to talk about impact on world view, when other’s opinions might change our world view. Smart move, Professor Bradley.